NZ side-trip (tack on to work trip) options

Search

Search this Thread

Old Jul 12th, 2023, 07:44 PM
Original Poster

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts

I'm interested in getting some realistic ideas of a few side-trips and/or long weekend trips I could tack on to a work trip to Hamilton New Zealand. This will be in November. I'm a museum professional, so I'm interested in Te Papa in Wellington. What's the best way to get to Wellington from Hamilton (and vice-versa)? I'm interested in beautiful scenery, low-intensity hiking and walking, and cultural activities. What else should I be considering? I am just starting to learn about New Zealand, so I am open to all suggestions.

I'm also considering looking closely at my flights and if they come in or out of Sydney (or any other hub), possibly making a long weekend trip out of that layover. Since I'll already be on that side of the world, why not try to add on a few more adventures?
Old Jul 13th, 2023, 01:06 AM

Received 1 Like on 1 Post
Sorry I can't help with your NZ question but wonder where you are coming from? If you are from North America, it would make no sense to go to NZ via Australia. You should be able to get flights directly to NZ. If you are flying on to Sydney then hopefully you will have more than just a weekend. For beautiful scenery and a good walk, check out the coastal walks in Sydney
https://sydneyuncovered.com/coastal-walks-sydney/

Old Jul 13th, 2023, 03:44 AM

Received 83 Likes on 5 Posts
How long will you be In NZ? How many weekends are you trying to fill?

I'm not very familiar with the North Island, nor am I a fan, but if you think you can make it to the South Island, I can help there...however, it's not really a long weekend kind of place, unless your weekend is 4-5 days
Old Jul 13th, 2023, 11:43 AM
Original Poster