Alaska in June - All the questions

Search

Search this Thread

Old Feb 19th, 2023, 06:47 AM
Original Poster

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts

I have been researching for a couple of months but it just gets more and more overwhelming. There are so many details to figure out! I'm planning to book for June but would love feedback or guidance/recommendations on the following.

Cruise line/ship: Holland America (Noordam or Nieuw Amsterdam), Princess (Sapphire, Majestic or Grand), NCL Jewel or Celebrity Millennium? I think Celebrity is only option that doesn't go to Glacier Bay.

Northbound (I've read the waters are rougher in the open waters up north and it's helpful to have your sea legs before you hit that portion) OR do we go Southbound so that we can have adventure and then relax on a cruise before we fly home. Assuming it's best to look at land vs open water? re: Starboard or port side. And down to availability at this point.

Land by cruise line, or do it on our own?

Fly into Vancouver or Fairbanks or Anchorage... Rental car looks to be around $2,000 for the week. I've read about gravel roads, etc. and not sure where that becomes a problem.

Cruise with balcony around $5,000 across the board and that's before excursions and airbnbs or other accommodations for the land portion.

Does anyone have recommendations for accommodations on land portion?

Train tickets: Between Anchorage and Denali. Seward to Anchorage. Skagway to Whitehorse? Train options seem across the board too with levels of views or comforts?

The flight seeing opportunities with a stop on a glacier seems cool, but $500ish per person so figuring out which location offers the best experience for this investment.

Matanuska Glacier sounds like a nice option for walking on a glacier?

Kenai Fjords boat trip.