Go Back  Fodor's Travel Talk Forums > Destinations > United States
Reload this Page >

Planning a ski trip after Christmas, Park City or Vail Town?

Search

Search this Thread

Old Dec 22nd, 2022, 12:47 PM
Original Poster

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts

My new ski gear arrived recently and I'm ready to give myself a break after Christmas - which is better for snowboarding, Park City or Vail Town? (I'm a snowboarding rookie)
Old Dec 22nd, 2022, 05:31 PM

Received 17 Likes on 4 Posts
Hi. Welcome to Fodors! What is the new gear? It is rather difficult to travel for long distances with a snowboard. I've never been to Park City or Vail but I do know some good places to learn in Oregon. My favorite is Mt. Bachelor with Bend Oregon as a base. Others include Timberline and HooDoo. Are you planning on flying to SLC or Denver for your snowboarding adventure? Be prepared for brutally cold temps. Today Denver did not get above zero degrees F. Wind chills on a ski mountain will be subzero for sure.
Tomorrow I plan to put on my snowshoes for the first time this season and break a trail for my wife to follow around the house with her new snowshoes.
Old Dec 22nd, 2022, 08:09 PM

Received 4 Likes on 3 Posts
Park City is easier to get to. The bus from the SLC airport to PC takes less than 90 minutes. Vail is closer to Eagle Airport than Denver. Air fares to Eagle won't be cheap, and depending on where you live there might not be direct flights. The bus from Denver to Vail takes twice as long as the SLC-PC bus, and the bus from Eagle to Vail takes about an hour. For Vail (and probably PC as well), you can book a shared shuttle. Drive times for bus and shuttle vans can be impacted by weather.