Europe Forums

Post New Topic

Recent Activity

View all Europe activity »
  1. 1 Jamikins? Other Italy travelers? Need car info, please.
  2. 2 Poland to Austria In December
  3. 3 LHR Connection Time and Fast Track
  4. 4 Van Crashes into crowded street in Barcelona
  5. 5 Best Neck Pillow
  6. 6 Copenhagen,Helsinki,St. Petersburg in mid September
  7. 7 Using RenaultUSA.com
  8. 8 Help with 12 day UK Itinerary!
  9. 9 Trip Report With Gratitude for a Glorious Solo Month in Greece
  10. 10 barcelona neighborhood
  11. 11 3 weeks italy itinerary
  12. 12 How to spend 6 days in Stockholm ?
  13. 13 Black Forest base 7-10 days - public transport
  14. 14 Tracking the Weather
  15. 15 Italy travel plan help
  16. 16 Do I Tip the Maid & How Much, Paris 3* Hotel?
  17. 17 A bit overwhelmed!!!
  18. 18 Alsace to Austria?
  19. 19 road trip through scotland
  20. 20 NOTICE: Disruption on the railway line Mannheim-Basel
  21. 21 Wales
  22. 22 Base in Rhine or Mosel?
  23. 23 Tieks for travel
  24. 24 Trip Report Laura and Steve's Spanish Adventure
  25. 25 Where to eat in Rome?
View next 25 » Back to the top

Comments/Suggestions Please! October N. Italy Itinerary!

Jump to last reply

Hello Fellow/Sister Travelers, Suggestions/comments please!

Hubs and I are 62, fit and healthy, with experience traveling in Europe several times, and celebrating our 35th anniversary. For the first time in our lives we have time to drink things in a bit more. The last time I was in Bella Italia was on a small women's group trip in 2003 to Rome, Florence, and Venice. Hubs has been to Florence and Pisa, never to Rome or Venice. He wants to spend lots of time in the Tuscan countryside and several days in Venice. I've set the countryside stay for a Sat.- Sat. stay, as many of them seem to work that way. I'd like a couple of days in Rome (have seen most of the sights but want another day in the Vatican again). He has little interest in Rome. We're planning a couple of days in Abruzzo to see his mom's ancestral village. We will be flying into Rome and out of Venice, spending nearly a month in Italy. Southern Italy will have to wait for another trip. I have built in travel and restful/casual days too. Both of us love seeing art, old villages, going on little excursions (cooking classes, wine tastings, and possibly a truffle hunt, etc.). I'd like a day in Assisi. Using Marriott points in Rome and Venice, possibly Florence.

Fly into Rome, leave out of Venice

Tues. 29 Sept.- Leave for Rome.

Wed 30 Sept- Arrive Rome, hotel check in, deal with jet lag, and casual day.

Thurs.1 Oct.- Rome

Fri. 2 Oct.- Rome

Sat. 3 Oct.- Leave Rome; rail travel to Pescara; pick up rental car. O/N in Pescara.

Sun. 4 Oct. Drive around Abruzzo

Mon. 5 Oct.- Day in Fara San Martino, ancestral village of Hubs' mom. O/N in Pescara

Tues. 6 Oct- Leave Pescara; rail travel to Florence.

Wed. 7 Oct.- Fri. 9 Oct. Three full days in Florence for art and shopping.

Sat. 10 Oct.- Pick up rental car in Florence, travel to countryside base. O/N in base.

Sun. 11 Oct.- Fri. 16 Oct.- Tuscan countryside, six full days. Go on spontaneous and organized excursions to hill towns, etc.

Sat. 17 Oct.- Leave countryside base for Florence. Turn in rental car in Florence. O/N Florence.

Sun. 18 Oct- Day in Florence, maybe take a day trip to Pisa or Assisi.

Mon. 20 Oct. -Leave Florence for Venice by rail. Arrive Venice.

Tues. 21 Oct.- Fri. 25 Oct.- Four full days in Venice.

Sat. 26 Oct. Leave Venice for US.

Thanks in advance everyone!

12 Replies |Back to top

Sign in to comment.

Advertisement