Search

YOSEMITE LODGING

Search this Thread

Old Jul 29th, 2002, 06:12 PM
don

YOSEMITE LODGING

Tenaya or Yosemite View Lodge? I know that Tenaya is supposed to be much nicer,but Yosemite View looks to be c;oser to the park and cheaper, and looks nice also. Any recommendations?

Old Jul 30th, 2002, 03:55 AM
Vicki

Don, I have no first-hand knowledge and would like that info for myself since I will be visiting Yosemite for the first time in Sept. I live in NJ and saw that there is a special on the local PBS station tomorrow night (Wed. July 31) at 8:00p.m about lodging in National Parks. Both the lodges you mentioned are featured on the program. I plan to watch and will be glad to give you their opinion in case you don't get to see it.

Old Jul 30th, 2002, 04:54 AM
Sheila

Don, I just returned last week from Yosemite. We stayed at Yosemite Lodge. the room was adequate.Actually a pretty good size. No A/C, but a ceiling fan in our room. Some of the rooms do not have the ceiling fan, so they are given a table fan. It was 95 degrees last week, but after a shower, and lying under the ceiling fan, we did cool off. During the night, we had to use the blanket, as the temps went to 60. Also, our room had a bath. We were told some do not.

We used the shuttle bus system in the park. It is a wonderful system. It is used by, it seems, most everyone. Day trippers park in the day lot, and use the bus to get around. We thought it was very efficient.

We took the organized tours, and they all start at Yosemite Lodge. If you stay anywhere else, you must get to the lodge, by bus, or car, or walk. We were happy that we choose the Lodge because of that aspect.

Oh,sorry, after typing this I see you are talking about Yosemite VIEW Lodge. It took about 1/2 hour for the bus to get from Yosemite View to the Park. They stop and make pickups and dropoffs, for guests at that hotel, and for Park Employees at their residences, and the Hostel, and RV campgrounds. The shuttle system is great.