Yellowstone - Help I'm a rookie :)

Search

Search this Thread

Old May 6th, 2012, 08:02 AM
Original Poster

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts

Hello - planning a trip to YNP mid Aug 2012. I have been checking cancellations daily and here is what I have so far for in park lodging:

First night have a reservation at Mammoth.
Second and third night at Roosevelt - Frontier Cabins (I know totally lucked out)
Fourth night - Lake Hotel

I would like to get into OF but so far that hasn't happened. Here is my debate....before I scored the RL I booked two nights in Silver Gate, MT. My thought was fly into Billings and drive the Beartooth Hwy to Silver Gate and enter the park there to see Lamar Valley. Now should I cancel that all together since I have two nights at RL and grab a room in West Yellowstone (in case we never get OF) and skip BTH or keep one night at Silver Gate to include that route? Planning on up to 5/6 nights in park (or just outside).

Thanks a ton!
Old May 6th, 2012, 10:00 AM

I would drive BTH and keep that night. You should be able to score something at Old Faithful. Take the first one you can get, lodge, inn, cabin, etc. Then maybe you'll get lucky and get the one you actually want later. Sounds like you've made good progress, even if nothing else becomes available.

For me Mammoth is the least interesing spot(certainly worth a bit of time though). Geyser Basin around Old Faithful-I could spend several days there just geyser gazing.
Old May 6th, 2012, 11:00 AM

Received 8 Likes on 1 Post
I think the general opinion would be that Mammoth isn't what it used to be and I would try to drop that.

Call every day or more often and try for OF. I really like the location of Canyon. Close to the big falls and near wildlife. Tower might also be a good area.

When you get OF that might eliminate Lake as they're not too far.

Are you planning anything for Grand Tetons. It's a beautiful place. I would try for Signal Mountain.