Where to move to, outside D.C area?

Old May 1st, 2006, 01:40 PM
Original Poster

Where to move to, outside D.C area?

Hi Fodorites,

My husband and I are looking to relocate from Colorado to the D.C area or surrounding areas. He will be working in downtown D.C and I am a high school teacher. Any helpful suggestions as to where would be a good place to live? I have been told that D.C itself is not where I would want to be teaching (too dangerous), and too expensive, but maybe this is not correct. I would be most thankful for any advice!

Regards, Jade
Old May 1st, 2006, 02:03 PM

Most important question: How much do you want to spending on housing.
Old May 1st, 2006, 02:19 PM
Original Poster

Hi Mike,

Well considering that I am a school teacher (in other words, poor ), as little as we can get away with to live some place beautiful and safe! My husband will be making early 50's. We will be looking to rent, and have a little beagle.
Old May 1st, 2006, 02:20 PM
Original Poster

I should clarify...we HAVE a little beagle, we aren't looking to produce one!
Old May 1st, 2006, 02:23 PM

Housing cost is a major issue here. If you don't want to live in the District, choose VA or MD and live as close to the city as you can afford. I live in Arlington, VA and I really like it, but proximity to public transporation is important to me.
Old May 1st, 2006, 02:56 PM

In some ways, a lot matters on where YOU work. It will be easy for your husband to get to work, but you don't want to have to commute very far. Have you started a job search at all???

I agree that inside the Beltway is always better than outside the Beltway. That means Arlington, Alexandria, or Falls Church in the Virginia, Bethesda, Silver Spring, inner PG County in Maryland, or you can live in the city (DC). For a one-bedroom apartment, be prepared to pay $1200. A two-bedroom will be closer to $1500.
Old May 1st, 2006, 02:57 PM