Go Back  Fodor's Travel Talk Forums > Destinations > United States
Reload this Page >

Washington DC area- is it really as uptight and unfriendly as people report?

Old Jun 24th, 2002, 05:51 AM
Cheryl

I was offered a terrific job in Washington DC but am starting to have second thoughts. I am a recent graduate of the University of Kansas.

I did a search of Fodors and there are many complaints about the people in the Washington DC area. It is discribed as a place where neighbors ignore each other, people work 12 hours a day and full of type A people.

This is not scientific, but when I visited Washington for my interviews, I encountered an incredibly large number of rude and unfriendly people. Most people I came in contact with in DC seemed to be untight and very intense. I could not get a smile or hello out of almost anyone.

I am looking for advice from people who live in the Washington DC area. Especially people that have moved there recently. What is the "people/social culture" like in Washington? Is it a tough town? Is it different than your home town?

Old Jun 24th, 2002, 06:03 AM
Jill

Well Cheryl, it definitely won't be Kansas anymore!
There are in DC just as in any city in the world, nice people and not nice people.
If you want to stay in a small town where you know everyone and run little risk of meeting the rude and obnoxious,stay in your own small town.
If you are willing to get out into the world and see how everyone else gets along, I say Go For It!! It will help you grow and make you a more well rounded person,to see how all the different kinds of people live in a city such as Washington DC.
I lived there years ago,now live in NYC. I enjoyed the years I lived in DC.People do work long hours there,depending on where they work, that does not apply only to DC!
I think it would be a great opportunity for any person just out of school to go learn to be an adult.
Good luck!

Old Jun 24th, 2002, 06:06 AM
george