VRBO Question/Nerves

Search

VRBO Question/Nerves

Search this Thread

Old Mar 8th, 2008, 05:56 AM
Original Poster

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
VRBO Question/Nerves

My husband and I are planning to spend a week in the Sullivan's Island/Isle of Palms area this summer. We've done this for several summers in a row, and we have always used the same realty/rental company to rent a house. Usually we have a larger group than just the two of us, but this year, various circumstances have conspired to keep others from going and to make us later than usual in making our reservation. The smaller places that we've rented in the past are already booked and we don't really want to pay $5000 per week to rent a 4 bedroom house for just two people. To get to my question, I've found what looks to be a perfect property on VRBO. However, I've never used VRBO before and I have to admit that I'm a bit nervous about renting directly through the owner and not through a realty company. I know lots of you have used VRBO successfully. Do you have any tips for "grilling" the owner (in a nice way!) to find out as much as possible about the property? Should I attempt to contact past guests about their experiences? Will the owner give out that information? These may be naive questions, but VRBO often sounds too good to be true, so I want to be cautious. Basically, as long as a property is clean and safe, I can deal with anything, however, with my crazy schedule, I don't get much vacation time, and I would hate to spend it wishing that I had gone ahead and rented a house too big for us, but with the security of a realty company. Thanks in advance!
Old Mar 8th, 2008, 06:10 AM
WannabeinaMontserrat