Search

Vacation Help!!!

Search this Thread

Old Apr 19th, 2004, 04:42 AM
bosco

Vacation Help!!!

Hi everyone. This is my first time to this board. I'm usually over on the caribbean board. Hoping someone can help offer some advice. I'm looking to plan an exotic vacation for my husband and I for 2005 - more of a once in a lifetime trip. We've been to the caribbean (anguilla and antigua) and Bermuda but wanted to go someplace different. Looking for exotic location, beautiful beaches, lots of water activities, friendly people and lush landscape. My husband is 53 and I'm 36, so we don't want someplace that is overrun by young kids. Our budget is about $10,000 including airfare from Upstate New York. We were looking into the Tahitian islands (specifically Moorea, Bora Bora and Taha'a)but are open to any options that would fit the bill. Wondering if we should consider Hawaii (specifically Maui or Kauai). We typically like small, intimate resorts with a personal atmosphere over the mega resorts. Can we find this in Hawaii? Looks like most of the nice, upscale places are large resort chains. Can anyone recommend places to stay in Hawaii that are most personal and offer more of the unique Hawaiian culture? Any other recommendations would be appreciated. Also, is Hawaii too overcrowded?

Old Apr 19th, 2004, 05:34 AM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Have a look at Kona Village Resort on the Big Island. I've never stayed there, but have heard it's amazing. It is quite pricy but it sounds as if you've got a budget that could handle it. Their website is konavillage.com.
Old Apr 19th, 2004, 05:46 AM

Bosco,

Thailand. Specifically the Phi Phi islands. If you spend a few days on the islands rather than take a day trip you will not be disappointed. With a $10K budget you should have no trouble. I suggest gate1travel.com for airfare.