Notices

US versus Europe Forum: Mega Differences!

Old Aug 15th, 2001, 09:31 AM
John

US versus Europe Forum: Mega Differences!

As a researcher, I would love to see a statistical report on the demographic differences between this forum and the Fodor's Europe section. Without being judgemental in any way, it seems to me that the "atmosphere" here is more aggressive, less forgiving of inept questions or newbies. Is this a gender thing? an age thing? or just perspective? Or am I making this up? ( For the record, I am a married man, early 60's, grown kids, travel a lot to Italy, Scotland, Canada and US at least 3X a year, semi-retired from market research firm in NYC and live in coastal Maine and I have never posted before (and depending on the response to this, may never again!)

Old Aug 15th, 2001, 09:43 AM
Anon

Oh no, it's most definitely NOT in your imagination, John.
The differences between the two forums are vast.
The Euro forum is frequented by people who, on average (not without exception), are better traveled, a bit older, much more socially conscious, better mannered, more informative.
I believe this is due to the fact that in general, people who have an interest in other cultures tend to be a bit more open minded and mature in their thinking.
Lots of the US posters are younger and less 'wordly wise' IMO.

Old Aug 15th, 2001, 09:48 AM
Robin

Good luck John-- it may get rough out there!