travel insurance - 4WD SUV coverage

Search

Search this Thread

Old Dec 21st, 2006, 09:07 AM
Original Poster

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts

I am renting a 4WD SUV in AK (for my winter vacation). Looking for a travel insurance policy that covers this type of vehicle. Checked a few insurance companies, they either don't cover 4WD or not sure...
Any recommendations? Thanks.
Old Dec 21st, 2006, 09:12 AM

You own personal auto policy should cover this...call them and ask.

Hope this helps...
Debi
Old Dec 23rd, 2006, 07:56 AM
Original Poster

I try not to use my own insurance for a rental car (or whenever I have a chance) - just to minimize the chance of raising my regular insurance's rate. You never know when a accident would occur.

AccessAmerica covers 4WD vehicles that are not mounted on a truck chasis.
Old Dec 23rd, 2006, 09:30 AM

I'm not an insurance expert but it is my understanding that your strategy of having another insurance policy so an accident won't effect your regular policy rates won't work. The insurance companies run a data clearinghouse operation so if you have an accident claim on any insurance policy, it shows up on your record and is accessable by your regular insurance company. Ditto if you get a traffic ticket. It doesn't matter if you get it in your home state or another state, your insurance company will still be able to find it.

If you will venture into Canada from Alaska with your rental vehicle, you also need a Canadian Insurance card which you can obtain from your regular agent.

You might check with your regular agent to see if I'm correct. It would save the extra expense of another policy.
Old Dec 23rd, 2006, 09:40 AM

"AccessAmerica covers 4WD vehicles that are not mounted on a truck chasis."