Travel Cheap

Jul 18th, 2000, 09:42 AM
Andrea

Travel Cheap

Hi
I am currently in my last year of college and I am interested in going to Washington DC to see the monuments. I was wondering how long should I go for and what is the cheapest way to do so (hotels, car rental, etc.)

thanks
andrea

Jul 18th, 2000, 12:39 PM
Annie

Check out the youth hostels. I know there's one downtown--kind of close to a not-so-nice, but up and coming area.

Also, George Washington University rents out dorms rooms during the summer. You can't beat the location (I should know--I spent 4 years there). You're close to everything, including the monuments, more than one metro stop. Check out www.gwu.edu for phone numbers--I don't think there's info on the room rental on the site, though. Most of the dorms rooms are nice--almost all are former apartment buildings--and have their own bathrooms.

You don't need a car while you're here, unless you plan to explore beyond the close-in suburbs. The Metro will take you to all of the tourist areas, and it's now open until 2 a.m. on Friday and Saturday nights.

Make sure you hit the Adams Morgan neighborhood and the area around the MCI Center (the new basketball arena) for good ethnic restaurants and some nightlife.

Jul 18th, 2000, 02:22 PM
Ma

Four days is a very decent stay, but you can do a certain amount in 2 or 3 (or you can live there 20 yrs. and still not see everything). Depend on the Metro subway system for most of your transportation. Forget a car. And if you are on a budget, forget the touristy trams and trolleys and double-deckers. You can do a LOT on the Metro and on foot. There are a few monuments (Jefferson, Roosevelt) that are not easy to get to that way, but most everything else you can.