To drive or not? Yosemite NP?

Old Sep 9th, 2008, 01:16 AM
Original Poster

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
To drive or not? Yosemite NP?

I'm from Singapore. I'm driving in from San Francisco to Yosemite NP. I'm a little lost in what I should do. I hope anyone with experiences at YNP can give me some advice. It's my first time to a national park

1) I hope to stay outside the park, but where is a better entrance to stay near to?
2) Should I drive into the park or take a shuttle into the park?
3) Are the shuttle services within the park adequate to take me to all 'must-see' places?

Any advice is appreciated!

Old Sep 9th, 2008, 03:17 AM

I would drive. I wouldn't stay outside the park. I would stay inside the park in Yosemite Valley. You will want to go see the big trees at Wawonna and you might want to drive Tioga. You are in for a real treat. The only negative thing about Yosemite is it a crowded national park. What time of the year are you planning this trip? National Parks generally are somewhat primitive compared to the the rest of the US as far a lodging and dining. Yosemite is more advanced and organized than most parks.
Old Sep 9th, 2008, 03:18 AM

We stayed in Mariposa when we visited(twice) the park. It's a nice drive to the park.You can use your car for the visit.Dont forget to visit the Mariposa grove of giant trees and Glacier point.Paul
Old Sep 9th, 2008, 04:12 AM
cd

The suggestion to stay inside the Park in the Valley would also be my suggestion.We stayed at Yosemite Lodge. The location is awesome, right at the base of Yosemite Falls. Very clean and basic accomodations http://www.nationalparkreservations.com/yosemite.htm

Also, as was suggested be sure and drive to the Redwoods, They are not to be missed.
http://www.redwoodsinyosemite.com/sequoias.htm
Old Sep 9th, 2008, 08:37 AM

Received 50 Likes on 7 Posts
" I hope to stay outside the park, " May I ask why you want to stay outside the park?