Reload this Page >

Tired of the rat race, looking for relocation advice

Search

Search this Thread

Old Oct 12th, 2001, 03:47 AM
Cathy

For over ten years I have been fighting the rat race in Washington DC. This is one tough town. I am convinced that the politics that goes on in congress is standard operation in the business world in Washington also. Most people I talk to tell me they think that Washington and New York are the toughest towns in America.

I am looking for advice from people who know America best- travelers. I am looking to relocate to a place that has both white collar office type jobs (I work as an Accountant) but has nice people who know that 5:00 should be the start of family time, not the middle of the work day. (In Washington DC- the 12 hour work day is standard and expected in the business sector).

I am looking for a place that is more laid back. Where people have manners, are less cut throat, chat with people in their offices, and smile when you smile at them.

I know this is found in many small towns but I am looking to move to a place that has a metro area population of at least one million.

Does anyone have relocation advice for me?

Old Oct 12th, 2001, 04:50 AM
Joanne

Judging by the traffic reports, everyone who works in Boston leaves the office between 4 and 5 PM!

Washington definitely has the worst work-culture habits in the nation. In other cities, like Boston, a lot depends on the specific business. My late husband worked for four different companies in ten years. In one, you were regarded with suspicion if you left hthe office before 7 PM, but in another one the owner came around and literally turned out the lights and locked the place up at 5! I would guess that outside DC you would be able to find 5PM-type companies in almost any metro area.

Old Oct 12th, 2001, 05:16 AM
Arabella

I've lived and worked in major cities --NYC, Chicago and Dallas -- and have enjoyed the experience, but I've found a wonderful home in Charlotte.