The "Real" San Francisco

Jun 26th, 2007, 07:58 AM
Original Poster

The "Real" San Francisco

What defines the real feel of San Francisco, wharf area, or Union Square? Would staying at Chancellor Hotel be preferred by most San Franciscans as opposed to wharf hotels/motels? Would waking up and taking an early morning walk to the pier be better than to the hustle and bustle of Union Square?

I'm having a problem with this decision. Please help.
Jun 26th, 2007, 08:02 AM

well I am no expert but having stayed in both areas I would have to say I preferred staying in Union Square area

have stayed at the Chancellor - but dont remember what time of year - no air conditioning was not a problem though
Jun 26th, 2007, 08:19 AM

I would say neither -- one of which is very touristy and the other is in the heart of the shopping district.

Personally, I would opt for something smaller in Pacific Heights (or North Beach).
Jun 26th, 2007, 08:38 AM

I think that the benefit of Union Square is that it is right in the hub of public transportation, so you can get just about anywhere in the city pretty easily. It isn't very atmospheric though.
Jun 26th, 2007, 03:29 PM

Stay in Union Square where all of the transportation options are easy to get to. Wake up there and take a walk down to the Embarcadero. It is about 12 (flat) blocks. You will be going through the Financial District and walking on Market Street. It doesn't get much more "real" than that. Check out the markets and shops in the refurbished Ferry Building and walk along the docks.

The Chancellor is a good reasonably priced hotel in a great location and the staff is friendly and helpful.