Stay in NC or go to California

Search

Search this Thread

Old May 4th, 2004, 10:34 AM
Original Poster

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts

It has always been a dream of mine to live in california...yes part of it is the "star attraction" it looks so beautiful and inviting on TV....now I know that TV is not reality but I have always had a strong urge to move there..can't explain it. I am a registered nurse and get many offers daily to come and live and work in California....the only drawback is that it is not just me...I am married and have a 10 yr old son. I have been following posts on Fodors and know that the LA area is out of the question...we have a friend in long beach and he loves..San Diego seems to be the ideal place...can anyone give me any other suggestions of places to live in California that are not so "touristy", places that are more "suburban"...OR talk me out of it...Is there anybody out there who has lived in NC? Do you regret the move? Raleigh, NC is a beautiful place with great weather and terrific people but I just can't seem to shake this desire to go west....thanks!
Old May 4th, 2004, 10:51 AM

Are you prepared to pay close to a half million dollars for a detached house?

If the average home cost in the area you might be considering is not closer to $500K, I would seriously consider the quality of life there.
Old May 4th, 2004, 11:13 AM

Received 4 Likes on 3 Posts
And condos are about $350,000 and up.
Old May 4th, 2004, 11:14 AM
SAB