Shopping - SoHo - NYC

Old Mar 6th, 2003, 09:46 PM
Original Poster

Shopping - SoHo - NYC

I'm taking my 2 teenager daughters to NYC for the weekend and would like to find some unusual shopping (not the typical mall type stores) that would still appeal to teenagers. Is SoHo the area to go? Any suggestions for restaurants for lunch? Thanks!
Old Mar 7th, 2003, 05:15 AM

Hi Maureen. I'm not good with shopping questions and don't have teens (yet) but here are my two cents. Soho is a fabulous shopping and eating area - for lunch you can try Zoe (upscale), Kelley & Ping (Asian self-service), Jerry's (diner), or many other places you can find but walking around. Try to make it to Broadway on the east edge of Soho. Also go uptown on Broadway and check out the Astor Place area, go east on 8th St which turns into St. Marks and check out the East Village.
Old Mar 7th, 2003, 05:36 AM

Yes, Soho is definitely good shopping, but it can be expensive. The girls might get a kick out of Canal Street, Broadway has a few stores that are good for teens. Best thing is just browse, they will find something they like, no doubt about that! Elizabeth St is a good place to look into.
Restaurants:
Il Corallo on Prince,Italian, brick oven pizza, wonderful fresh salads, very nice atmosphere.
The Cub Room, across the street from Il Corallo, cool, neighborhood place , good food, always crowded.
Penang on Spring St, Thai, very interesting decor, waterfall and grass roofed huts to sit in, yummy food.
Tennessee Mt House,Spring St, BBQ, fried chicken, wings, ribs, fries, busy, casual.
The Cupping Room, madhouse, but great brunches/lunches, neighborhood place, but often you can see some famous faces.
Once Upon a Tart, if you want to just stop for a snack and drink.
Zoe-very nice lunch with your ladies
Hope this helps, have a great time!
Old Mar 7th, 2003, 05:59 AM

Cool stores in SoHo

Kate Spade
Armani Exchange
Kates Paperie
Kenneth Cole
Aldi (shoes)
Averex
Sephora
Zara (only baragains on this list)