Go Back  Fodor's Travel Talk Forums > Destinations > United States
Reload this Page >

Seattle: when/where/how long to go, day trips, etc.

Notices

Old Jan 22nd, 2004, 04:08 PM
Original Poster

Liked 0 Times in 0 Posts

I'm just beginning the planning for my first trip to Seattle.

I have some questions for some of the more experienced travelers of the Pacific Northwest.

My first question is when is the best time to go?? I'm free any time, and we'll be doing a lot of outdoor activities so I guess that should be taken into account. Also, I'd like to attend a Mariners game if possible.

Next, how long is needed to really enjoy Seattle and possibly a secondary spot?? My early short list includes Pike Place Market, Bainbridge Island, Mt. Ranier and Pioneer Square.

Finally, what is a good secondary destination to pair with Seattle?? I've always wanted to visit Portland, Ore., and we'd probably be renting a car anyway. Vancouver would be nice, but I think I'd rather hit Portland. Any other suggestions??

Any insight on any of these questions, plus any other tips on must sees, reasonable hotels, etc. would be greatly appreciated.

Thanks so much!
Old Jan 22nd, 2004, 04:28 PM

Liked 0 Times in 0 Posts
August/September is probably the best time to visit the PNW weather-wise, but it is a popular time to visit, so hotels may be crowded and not cheap.

Portland is a neat city - it is *not* just a littler Seattle. Vancouver, BC is also a terrific city, and given the choice between Vancouver and Portland (after Seattle), I probably would choose Vancouver. If you have time, see all three.

If I were you, I'd pick up a PNW guidebook, maybe one on Portland, Seattle, and/or Vancouver, and see what seems interesting, what doesn't, then ask for feedback on specific items.

Old Jan 22nd, 2004, 05:28 PM

Liked 0 Times in 0 Posts