Go Back  Fodor's Travel Talk Forums > Destinations > United States
Reload this Page >

San Diego vs. San Francisco: Nicest people?

Search

Search this Thread

Old Nov 4th, 2005, 07:44 PM
Original Poster

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts

Aloha,

I am relocating to either San Francisco or San Diego. Which one is friendlier? I'm originally from Chicago: The friendliest! ;-)

Am I going to get bored fast in S.D. if I am a true metrophile? Any advice is really appreciated!

Aloha again,
- Marsha
Old Nov 4th, 2005, 07:58 PM

Because I am a life-long San Diego resident ...I feel we have the Best climate...But...............
Old Nov 5th, 2005, 04:59 AM

Without a doubt, S.D wins hands down. Of course I am somewhat partial. I was raised there, at that time going WAY BACK and I dare not say how long ago, it was primarily a small "navy town." It is also close to Mexico. These things seemed to lend itself to being a "easy going, friendly" town. The town over the years, has outgrown that casual feel, but still remains the cleanest and friendliest town. S.F is somewhatmore cosmopolitan but I do not feel you would be bored in S.D I do love S.F but I never "left my heart there!" Truly, I am sure both would be a good choice!
Old Nov 5th, 2005, 05:52 AM

Received 50 Likes on 7 Posts
Since the majority of people in most California cities are either 1st or 2nd generation to the state - asking which is friendliest is basically unanswerable. There are PLENTY of friendly people, rude people, midwesterners, southerners, foreigners, etc. in both places.

Except for having great locations on the water, SD and SF are totally different animals. I can't see one getting bored in either place though.
Old Nov 5th, 2005, 08:50 AM

Hi, Oahu - Do you mean that you would actually live IN San Francisco? There is an enormous difference between the two lifestyles, if that is the case. There is no place like San Francisco - but the people are different and the climate is different.