Riding from Reno around Northern CA

Old Jun 1st, 2010, 11:33 AM
Original Poster

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Riding from Reno around Northern CA

You all have some excellent tips so I hope you'd be so kind to share a few with me. There are 6 of us flying in to Reno, renting motorcyles and would like to see some suggested sites and scenic roads/locations throughout N. California.
We are coming in July 16th and will there for one week.
We are looking to take a leisurely pace; maybe 150 miles a day or so and I'd be grateful for your suggestions.
Redwoods is one definate.
Also any tips on accomadations to stay in the evening etc.
This is my first time on the West Coast and I am looking forward to it!

I read a post from traveler318 who said they'd lived in that area all their life, would love to hear from you.
Thank you
Old Jun 1st, 2010, 12:26 PM

I'm not traveler318, but I am also a CA native So you've got 1 week, starting in Reno, and a must-see is the redwoods - that means heading to the coast. There are redwood groves up and down the northern and central CA coast, so lots of opportunities to see them.

North of SF there are quite a few old growth groves, so you could make a loop - maybe hit the coast around the Fort Bragg/Mendocino area and head north toward Eureka, then back toward Reno again - maybe see Lassen National park as well. The north coast has some gorgeous coastline, lots of small towns, and is overall fairly rural. We are actually headed up to Prairie Creek state park for some camping over July 4th weekend - can't wait!!

Another good choice would be to see the redwoods in the Santa Cruz mountains, which are about an hour south of SF. There are some old growth groves here too, although not as many as along the north coast. Still tons of redwoods and some wonderful forests, but second growth forests dominate. Basically, the closer to SF the forests are, the more likely they were to be logged before protections were put in place.