Reload this Page >

Richmond or Norfolk Virginia

Search

Search this Thread

Old Jan 9th, 2002, 02:12 PM
mover

I posted here about a week ago regarding relocation to the southeast. Based on stupid bar rewquirements (I am an attorney) it appears Virginia will be my destination.

I am looking for specific info regarding living and working in Richmond or Norfolk. I am 30 yo professional female recently divorced no children. I like trendy restaurants, good shopping, as well as cultural activities. I prefer to rent an apartment or condo for at least the first 6 months to get my bearings before buying a home in a city I have never visited.

Don't know where specifically I will be working but I am sending resumes to law firms in both cities, I assume they are in the "downtown" areas. Need recommendations for specific neighborhoods. I do not want to live in a suburb and prefer not to commute more than 20 min. each way by car though I do want to live in a "newer" area with plenty of young professionals.

Thanks in advance for your kind replies.

Old Jan 9th, 2002, 02:19 PM
Gail

E-mail me at above and I'll try to give you some personal opinions!

Old Jan 9th, 2002, 02:25 PM
Don

Neighborhoods:
Ghent in Norfolk.
The Fan in Richmond.

Richmond: a bit more cosmopolitan.
Norfolk: a harbour/port downtown.

Richmond: think old money, history, tradition.
Norfolk: think Navy, shipping, seafood.

Relatively low cost of living in both. Norfolk/Va Beach/Newport News (aka "Hampton Roads") scored #1 best place to live in one of those majour magazine rankings a couple of years ago.

Old Jan 10th, 2002, 05:08 AM
Topper

ttt!

Old Jan 10th, 2002, 11:37 AM
mover

Thanks Don, I looked at soem apartments on the internet in both cities to get a feel for prices. I saw some nice ones in the Ghent area of Norfolk. There were 2 really nice complexes on Westover avenue, Ghent Square and Ghent Village, I believe. Neither was extremely pricey.