Search

Recommendations for Doing and Dining in Yosemite, Monterey, Mendocino

Search this Thread

Old Apr 11th, 2008, 07:04 AM
Original Poster

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Recommendations for Doing and Dining in Yosemite, Monterey, Mendocino

Hey Everyone,

I'm a newbie to this forum. I'm planning a 25th anniversary trip for hubby and myself, May 11-21. I've got reservations for 3 nights B & B in El Portal, 3 nights at a cabin in Pacific Grove, 2 nights in a B&B in Mendocino. Looking for recommendations on the best things to do and places to eat. We'll be spending our anniversary near Yosemite, so would like a nice place to eat near there. Otherwise, we're more concerned about good food, CHEAP. We want to kayak, hike, horseback ride, whale watch (if it's worth it), bicyle, wine-tasting near Mendocino. We're also going to be in Reno on business from May 7-11, flying into Sacramento. Would appreciate ANY suggestions of great things to do in any of those places or along the way. Thanks!
Old Apr 11th, 2008, 11:53 AM

First, I guess you are flying into Sacto. and then driving to Reno. Correct? If so, take highway 50 out of Sacto. to Lake Tahoe and drive along the west shore before going up to Truckee and then east on highway 80 to Reno. The lake is beautiful!!

On your way to Yosemite, from Reno go south on 395 to Tioga pass and over into the valley, and back out of the park to El Portal. Stunning views!! Much better than coming in from the other direction along the Merced River.

In Yosemite, my favorite hike is up to Vernal and Nevada Falls. They call it the mist trail, and you really will get wet if the falls are in full flood. It is a steep climb and sometimes up steps carved from the stone.