Quick relaxing trip on Pacific Coast Highway?

Old Feb 4th, 2002, 07:40 PM
LSUvetgirl

Quick relaxing trip on Pacific Coast Highway?

I am a 3rd year veterinary student, only 4 days from finishing classes and starting clinical rotations. This is a monumental time, and the end of a very draining 5 semesters. I just bought last minute plane tickets to fly to San Francisco this coming Saturday night (2/9/02). I have 2 days; my plane leaves the San Francisco airport at 11:00 on Tuesday morning, and I want to see some beautiful stuff and both relax & invigorate myself.

I'm kind of just thinking of renting a car on Sunday morning and driving down Hwy 1, stopping when I feel like it or when something strikes my fancy. But I am too compulsive to not do ANY more planning! So I'm wondering a couple things.

1. Would it be possible to stay somewhere other than San Francisco, like Monterey, on Monday night, and still reliably get back to the SF airport by 9:30ish on Tuesday morning? I'd be willing to get up at 5:30 or so, but not earlier than that

2. Am I completely fooling myself and will I end up sleeping in my car every night, thinking I can just "stop wherever I end up" and find a reasonable room?

3. How much ground could I reasonably hope to travel on Hwy 1 in this time frame? I don't *have* to see every sight, I just want to make the most of my time. For me, that would mean finding a few really amazing, memorable things to do/places to hike, etc., vs. seeing as many things as I possibly could.

4. Any suggestions on "can't miss" things? I'm most excited about the scenery, the animals, etc, (more so than history, antiques, art...)

I would really appreciate any input!

Old Feb 4th, 2002, 08:10 PM
rrr

If you have never been to San Francisco then stay there! There are so many things to do and see. You will have a great time. You can wander by bus or cable car! Congratulations!

Old Feb 4th, 2002, 08:29 PM
janis