Reload this Page >

Purchase airline tickets online?

Search

Search this Thread

Old May 31st, 2000, 11:39 AM
lina

Hello, this is my first time to this forum and posting here. My question is in regards to buying an airline ticket online. For anyone who has purchased an airline ticket on the internet in the past...do you recommend it? What site do you recommend or which have you had any experiences with? I will be flying from PA to CA in July. Any info is greatly appreciated. thanks!

Old May 31st, 2000, 12:31 PM
LCB

We live in up-state NY and have had no problems when making flight reservations on the internet. We like usair.com or travelocity.com or 1travel.com. We have made reservations for Cal., Fla., and Ireland and have had no problems. You should check all the sites, putting in different dates and times, often you get a super rate if you have the time to check different requests.

Old May 31st, 2000, 12:38 PM
betsy

Definatlyl check the individual airlines websites before you check travelocity and such. Airlines sometimes post "internet only" fares that are only available directly from the airline's website. I got a ticket from Providence to San Deigo rt for $189 on usairways.com. I've had no problems with ual.com (United) or usairways.com.
Good Luck!

Old May 31st, 2000, 01:48 PM
sammie

Agree with the last suggestion to check individual air line sites.
ALso call the reservations number of the airlines to get their current posted rates, check on a few dates and times for a good deal. This will give you a basis of comparison. If you get a patient helpful reservation agent on the phone you may find better deals.
Check a couple destination airport prices, flying to LA may or may not be a lot less than San Diego, prices go up and down all the time.
Check air line consolidators, there are usually ads for them in USA Today on Friday,travel section. I have found their prices to be better than Internet.
Internet deals are not always the best prices.