Reload this Page >

Philly Steak Sandwich

Search

Philly Steak Sandwich

Search this Thread

Old May 4th, 1998, 03:42 PM
Kathy

Philly Steak Sandwich

A while back the Frugal Gourmet had a show on Philadelphia. He showed a restaurant in downtown Philadelphia that features a gourmet Philly Steak Sandwich. It was a round loaf of bread, cut horizontally with some of the bread scooped out and then filled with beef etc.

Old May 6th, 1998, 03:42 AM
Mark

As a Philadelphia resident, I must say that there is nothing "gourmet" about a cheesesteak (at least in what most people define as "gourmet"). Philadelphia has become quite a culinary capital in the past few years, so I guess it doesn't suprise me, someone on Walnut street probably developed this "cheesesteak". Anyway, with all due respect to Mr. Smith, if you want a really good cheesteak (with cheesteak atmosphere) while in Philadelphia, you can try out the "famous" places like Pat's and Geno's in South Philly (9th & Wharton). Be cool and order "cheese with", meaning cheeze-wiz with onions (or you can get a little more "gourmet" and go with "provolone with"). On South Street (at 4th), there's Jim's, which is okay... you can smell the onions a block away. My favorite is at the Onion Pie (La Cipolla Torta) at 2nd and Market St. or the other Pat's in the Reading Terminal Market (12th & Arch). Everyone has their favorite place, remember the difference between a cheesteak and a cheesteak hoagie (a hoagie has lettuce and tomato - which is a little too healthy for most). Don't forget to chase it all down with a good Italian Water Ice. Sorry I couldn't help you find your gourmet cheesesteak... "gourmet" and "cheesteak"... never thought I'd hear the two in the same sentence.

Old May 7th, 1998, 12:18 PM
kam

Gourmet or not, I still miss them a lot. An Italian beef in Chicago is along the same lines. I like provelone on my cheesesteak--yum--try to get on here in California!!!!

Old May 15th, 1998, 03:17 PM
erin