Opinions on Ramada Plaza New Yorker

Old May 29th, 2002, 06:01 AM
brian

Opinions on Ramada Plaza New Yorker

I got stiffed on my last request for opinions on this hotel (no responses) so I will try again. Maybe it was bad timing , but please pass along any opinions on this property. Family of four kids 16 and 14. Will we like the property and what do you think of the location? We are in NY 4 days and dont have any set plans we are just going to wing it. Any recommendations for cheap eats near hotel would be appreciated also. Thanks in advance. Also, where is the nearest fire house? I am a firefighter myself and would like to cook a meal for one of the crews to show my appreciation. The hotel is at 34th and 8th.

Old May 29th, 2002, 07:39 AM
Anthony

I haven't stayed there, so I can't comment, but the area is OK but not the best; convinent to Madison Square Garden & Macys.
Did you get a good deal on the rate? Have you considered using Priceline.com and bidding for a hotel? People have been getting great rate using Priceline.
You can checkout www.biddingfortravel.com
for hints on bidding on Priceline, and to see what hotels people have gotten at what price.

Old May 29th, 2002, 08:12 AM
forYou

just topped a thread on this hotel for you. Priceline could be risky in NYC for a hotel to accommodate 4 (they can only guarantee room for 2 and NYC has many small rooms).

Old May 29th, 2002, 08:16 AM
aMom

That area is convenient to mass transit and some sights but the area is very unattractive. Could be either desolate or mobbed in the evening (depending on what's going on at MSG).

Old May 29th, 2002, 09:12 AM
nyer

Nearest fire station that I can think of is on 32nd Street between 7th and 6th avenues. It is right across the street from the order where the late Fire Department chaplain Father Mychal Judge was based and he often spent time at this station.

Old May 29th, 2002, 09:25 AM
Statia

Brian: