Search

North Carolina

Search this Thread

Old May 21st, 2012, 09:39 PM
Original Poster

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
North Carolina

Adult daughter and Mother will be visiting family in Leland, NC July or August for 2 weeks but would also like to tour the area. Need help in where to visit and what to see as
we are native Californians and have not traveled much in this area.
Would like to see Ashville and Biltmore house and have never been to
Charleston. Relatives tell us Leland is close to Wilmington so need
advice on what to do and see in Wilmington. I am a retired teacher
and my daughter is also a teacher but not retired. Enjoy gardens, museums
historical places and would enjoy touring southern mansions.
What airport should we fly into?
Since we will be renting a car the car probably needs to be returned
to the same city we are flying in and out of.
Open to suggestions and any help given will be much appreciated.
Helen near Los Angeles, CA
Old May 22nd, 2012, 03:03 AM

When you go to Ashville, I would take State Highway 74 through Chimney Rock rather than the interstate for your last leg of the drive. The area is scenic. Lake Lure is beautiful.
Old May 22nd, 2012, 03:12 AM

Welcome to North Carolina!
a. which airport? Probably RDU or CLT will give you the best fares and best chance of a non stop from CA.
b. Charleston is in South Carolina and is well worth a visit. It is a beautiful city with great architecture and some of the best restaurants in the USA.
c. If you love history you should make a stop at Old Salem in Winston-Salem. It is right off I-40 between Wilmington and Asheville.
d. Wilmington has a lovely waterfront and some interesting historical buildings. It is also a great beach area.
e. I recommend you click on the North Carolina tagged posts in the forum and see what intrigues you. There are a number of regular posters who will be glad to help you enjoy our beautiful state.
Old May 27th, 2012, 01:31 PM
Original Poster