Go Back  Fodor's Travel Talk Forums > Destinations > United States
Reload this Page >

New Orleans Experts: Help me narrow down my restaurant list!!

Search

Search this Thread

Old Apr 11th, 2005, 05:36 AM
Original Poster

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts

I am a former NO resident (childhood) returning w/dh for our anniversary in July (grandparents are watching our two young children so this is a big break for us!).

We are set for breakfast/brunch/lunch meals but I like to try places I haven't been before for dinner. We will definitely, however, being going to Commanders on our actual anniversay as it is our favorite. We are not interested in going to Galatoires (bad past experience). Though we loved Arnaud's and NOLA, we went on our last NO vaca and would rather try different spots. We will be staying in the French Quarter without a car and prefer place to which we can walk. Looking for places with a definite New Orleans (cajun/creole) influence. We have 3 dinners open. Considering high or low end - love great atmosphere. What do you suggest?

Old Apr 11th, 2005, 06:12 AM

We're from Baton Rouge and love Irene's in the Quarter and Dick and Jenny's on Tchoupatoulas. Irene's doesn't take reservations so go early around 6 p.m. or earlier if a weekend. You'll need a cab for Dick and Jenny's. It's worth it.
Old Apr 11th, 2005, 06:14 AM
Original Poster

I had been ruling out Irene's because it is italian, but recently I heard it has a cajun sort of influence so is unlike any other italian. I mentioned it to dh last night and he thinks it sounds great, so it is on the short list. I imagine the wait would be less on a weeknight than weekend.
Old Apr 11th, 2005, 10:07 AM
Original Poster

Technically I don't suppose I'm narrowing down as I don't really have a list, but given my criteria, what would recommend?
Old Apr 11th, 2005, 10:23 AM