MAJOR hurricane heading toward Hawaii

Search

Search this Thread

Old Aug 5th, 2009, 05:57 PM
Original Poster

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts

If you are heading to Hawaii in the next couple of weeks, you should pay special attention to the weather. Right now there is a category 3 hurricane headed toward Hawaii, and with hurricanes you never know the exact track of the storm they are very unpredictable. The forcasters I heard said that the storm is expected to get stronger, as it is in open very warm water, and that's not good news.

Track will take it close to Hawaii by Monday or Tuesday of next week.

Hopefully it will fizzle out before it hits land, let's all pray for that.
Old Aug 5th, 2009, 06:00 PM

Oh no! Hold on to your hats & be careful!
Old Aug 6th, 2009, 06:17 AM

Okay, I am scheduled to arrive for our vacation on Sunday. I have no experience with this. Should I assume the flight will be cancelled? Was busy planning snorkel excursion when I saw the weather. Should I cancel the whole trip while I can still get some money back, or am I jumping to conclusions. It sounds scary.
Old Aug 6th, 2009, 06:24 AM
Kal

[-o
Old Aug 6th, 2009, 06:30 AM

I live in Austin, TX and watch News 8 Austin. This morning during the weather forecast the hurricane headed in the direction of Hawaii was talked about. The hurricane is going to lose strength before it gets to Hawaii.

Also I went to www.weather.com and I copy/pasted this from the Hurricane Felicia headline:
"Felicia is forecast to make a turn in a more westerly direction this weekend, while encountering dry air and shearing winds aloft. This will likely quickly weaken the system through this weekend, with it nearing or passing just south of the Big Island of Hawaii early next week as a weak tropical storm or tropical depression.
At this time it appears any impacts, if any, to Hawaii will be minimal, and would not occur until later Monday."
Old Aug 6th, 2009, 06:43 AM