Search

Living in LA

Search this Thread

Old Jan 19th, 2007, 04:25 PM
Original Poster

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Living in LA

I've just been informed that I have an interview for a graduate school program at UCLA. This is perhaps the best program in the country in my field, and has two faculty members I would love to work with. I will probably not be able to attend the interview in person as I am currently studying in the UK, so I am hoping to get some advice about LA.

As much as I love the program, I really fear living in LA. I am from Dallas, which is obviously a large city, and I like visiting large cities (especially in Europe). Having access to culture is important to me.

But LA especially has always made me afraid. I hate driving/parking and would love to be in a city that you would walk or take public transportation, but this doesn't seem to be LA. I also worry about the very high cost of living ... is it reasonable to expect to live fairly close to UCLA? What is the UCLA area like ... I have heard it is nice?

I also fear being in a place with earthquakes, pollution and politics very different from my own. Finally, I have heard that LA people can be a bit rude/cold.

Sorry to spout all of this out, but these are all of my fears and stereotypes. Are some unfounded?

Thanks so much for your help.
Old Jan 19th, 2007, 04:30 PM

Received 12 Likes on 11 Posts
I was born in Los Angeles and love that city. The one thing you mention that will prove valid, is you'll need to get with it about a car and driving. It is a necessity of life or at least of enjoyment. It is not difficult. Most people are really good drivers because they do it so much!

I'm not sure how you can catogorize the personality of an entire city, but my friends who remain in LA are a very down-to-earth bunch.
Old Jan 19th, 2007, 04:34 PM
Original Poster