Go Back  Fodor's Travel Talk Forums > Destinations > United States
Reload this Page >

Leave your spouse for a week of leisure travel, wrong?

Search

Search this Thread

Old Mar 8th, 2005, 04:07 PM
Original Poster

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts

I want to travel but my wife can not get off work. (I am a Consultant with a very flexible schedule)

Would I be a terrible husband to go on a trip with a group without her?

Anyone ever go on week long leisure trips without their spouse?
Old Mar 8th, 2005, 05:04 PM

Not if you give her the opportunity to do the same.

It might help if you went somewhere she is not dying to go!
Old Mar 8th, 2005, 05:10 PM

Go for it. I do a lot of solo travel because my husband's work doesn't allow him the same freedom I have and because he just doesn't love it like I do. It keeps us both sane and happy!
Old Mar 8th, 2005, 05:17 PM

I went to Paris with some girlfriends, and the following year, my husband went with a group of guys to fish and explore Costa Rica. We both had a great time!
Old Mar 8th, 2005, 05:29 PM

travdis - How does your wife feel about your going alone? If she'd like to travel, too, but just can't get off work I think it'd be a very bad idea to go without her. If, on the other hand, she doesn't care if you go alone and will take a trip without you too, then it's okay.
Old Mar 8th, 2005, 05:30 PM

Would you be a terrible husband, no.

Will she tell you it's fine with her and go have fun, probably.

Will she really want you to go - unlikely. But, you can switch that to a yes with a little strategy.

What could fly is something where she has have no interest in participating - something that can clearly be called a "guy thing." Tour of Spring Training games or multiple baseball stadiums, golf at St. Andrews, fishing trip to Alaska or Canada, hunting, touring battlefields in the US or Europe, etc. Those you could get away with especially if you go with a friend.