Go Back  Fodor's Travel Talk Forums > Destinations > United States
Reload this Page >

How does one decide when there are so many good/negative reviews for SAME hotel!??

How does one decide when there are so many good/negative reviews for SAME hotel!??

May 14th, 2007, 11:05 AM
  #21  
Ag3046
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
If possible, I look at reviews for other hotels in the area to see how one hotel seems to fare over another. Often, a negative reviews seems more like a hotel-guest mismatch than a true problem.
 
May 14th, 2007, 03:45 PM
  #22  
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 8,296
This is an excellent question. You can look at reviews from many travel sites and compare. Check out the poster, if possible, to see if they always post negative reviews. There are some things I can live with that others may think is the worst, so I look to see if the negativity is related to those sorts of things. Good luck!
BayouGal is offline  
May 14th, 2007, 04:04 PM
  #23  
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Posts: 91,365
Well if it was only one cockroach and the hotel was in the tropics, I would probably overlook that comment myself.

I try to judge what people are complaining about against what the rooms cost and if I think their expectations are reasonable.

For instance, one of my favorite Waikiki hotels a person complained there were stains on the carpet, rust around the bathroom mirrors, and that furniture is out-dated. Guess what? Those things are absolutely true... but I still LOVE that hotel. It is clean, comfortable, rooms all have a kitchen, air conditioning, two pools, beautiful tropical gardens and is a good value price-wise.

I also ignore people who complain on & on then say the front desk was rude to them... well since they seem to be a great big whiner, possibly they deserved a cool reception.
suze is online now  
May 14th, 2007, 04:09 PM
  #24  
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Posts: 91,365
Ag3046 describes it well about a hotel-guest mismatch.

Same hotel I mention above, one person's sister was *horrified* by the room they were given. Well they had reserved the very most basic, lowest priced one and the sister was used to staying a 5-star hotels. No wonder she was unpleasantly surprised!!!

h-e-l-l-o ;-)
suze is online now  
May 14th, 2007, 04:22 PM
  #25  
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 4,963
I look at multiple sources: here, Frommers, trip advisor, hotels.com, AAA/ CSAA, Expedia, friends, etc..
trippinkpj is offline  
May 14th, 2007, 04:27 PM
  #26  
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 2,875
Great question - I have often wondered the same thing. I have learned to look for things like location - I stayed at a Residence Inn in downtown SD that is rated very high on trip advisor - it is RIGHT ontop of a train track that runs ALL night - there are earplugs given to you when you check in...that is a big deal to me - I like quiet.
Regarding the posts on bugs - it is hard to say - I have stayed at very high end properties in tropical areas and it is what it is... I did stay away from some properties in North Ca. based on trip advisor that talked about ants, and spiders et - sounded like a LOT.
I try to search on this forum as well as TA - to get a feel - at least here you can read and hopefully get an idea -Like I said - I have stayed at some of the properties that TA highly recommends and I would NEVER recommend them.
dawnnoelm is offline  
May 14th, 2007, 05:24 PM
  #27  
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Posts: 84
I think you have to try to get a feel as to the age and situation in life of the poster. The things that were important to me in my twenties are certainly different from the things that are important to me now. If the reviews are equally split, I google the poster who I think has some credibility. You would be surprised what you will find out. I also look at the detail the poster goes into, short and general details mean the person may be a plant. Everyone is different. I no longer stay in $50.00 a night rooms. I want comfort and convenience with luxury. Bedding is important to me; I want to sleep and not flip from side to side while exfoliating because the mattress and sheets are crap. Look for the details that mean something to you. Then see what the poster says about those details. If the bar or the entertainment means more than the shower or the location, then look for those details. Remember, some people are appalled at spending more than $100.00 a night, and some wouldn't dream of staying in a room that costs just $100.00 a night. Just so you know when you see a post from me - I am tired and don't want to do without at this point in my life. I will however overlook some faults if the view, or location is magical.
lippincottfarm is offline  
May 16th, 2007, 05:21 AM
  #28  
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 38
Trip Advisor is so much better now that you can click on each reviewer and see what other reviews they've written. It seems that half have only written a single review, so those are the ones I don't even read. Well-seasoned travelers are the most reliable.
tamaralea is offline  
May 16th, 2007, 10:39 AM
  #29  
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 10,966
Tamara--Thanks for the excellent suggestion. HTTY
happytrailstoyou is offline  
May 16th, 2007, 10:20 PM
  #30  
 
Join Date: May 2004
Posts: 4,392
Suze, which Waikiki hotel are you referring to? TWO pools? Tropical gardens?? Works for me! Please tell!!!
CaliNurse is offline  
May 17th, 2007, 12:51 AM
  #31  
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Posts: 17,549
I'm not sure I totally agree that one-time reviewers are any less reliable than others, but that's oviously subjective, too.

I do aree with trying to figure out the "mindset" of the reviewer, however.

Yesterday I was reading a review of a hotel in San Diego and the reviewer had nothing but bad things to say, to include how "small" the king bedded rooms are.

This person happened to publish a photograph of the family in this "small" room...three family members for whom the term "overweight" would be charitable...so much for "small."
Dukey is offline  
May 17th, 2007, 02:22 AM
  #32  
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Posts: 16,714
Don't forget to look at the "candid travelers photos" on tripadvisor. They tell a big story.
mclaurie is offline  
May 17th, 2007, 09:02 AM
  #33  
Original Poster
 
Join Date: May 2007
Posts: 25
awesome suggestions! thanks ALL!
formernewyorker is offline  
May 17th, 2007, 10:36 AM
  #34  
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Posts: 1,336
I skimmed through the replies and didn't see this one - but if I missed it, I apologize.

I do check at least 3 websites such as fodors and then I just plain "google" it. I put the name of the hotel and the location and add the word review. You'd be surprised how many hits you will get.

Another thing is to "throw away" the very top and the very bottom reviews.

Good luck!
Brahmama is offline  
May 17th, 2007, 12:40 PM
  #35  
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 10,966
What do you do when there are only two reviews--one that's favorable and one that isn't?
happytrailstoyou is offline  
May 17th, 2007, 01:45 PM
  #36  
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 727
Either stay there or don't!

Reviews are not guarantees of anything! They are just one tool to use in making a very subjective decision about a brief time in your life. I've seen so many people on travel forums agonize over the similar merits of one hotel vs. another. Sure, it's your vacation and money will be spent, but you can encounter a crappy 5* hotel as well as a wonderful 1*.

Make a decision already. Just do it!
tekwriter is offline  
May 17th, 2007, 02:52 PM
  #37  
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 10,966
Oh, please tekwriter, if you aren't interested in a problem such as the one posed here, don't throw cold water on those of us who are. Some of us are interested in the fine points of travel; if you aren't move on to your 1* hotel and don't bad mouth us. Thank you, HTTY
happytrailstoyou is offline  
May 17th, 2007, 03:28 PM
  #38  
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 727
Huh....? Was your question in jest? Hard to tell without tone of voice or body language to back it up.

You may have missed it, but I was indeed "very interested in a problem such as the one posed herein" as evidenced by first response to the OP, the sentiment of which was echoed by many succeeding posters.

If you were attempting to be funny, I guess I didn't get it. If you were serious, then my answer stands, as cold and watery as you want to take it.
tekwriter is offline  
May 17th, 2007, 03:37 PM
  #39  
mms
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Posts: 17,092
Dukey--I don't totally dismiss reviews where a poster has no other posts/reviews/etc. But I do click on their names and see their history. On the Oregon reviews, it is pretty funny...over the last week or so a small place on the coast suddenly has daily reviews raving about it. All of these are one time posters who joined the day they made the review. This one is so obvious that it is funny. I have to wonder if these establishments realize they are hurting themselves. Just on principle I would not visit a place that does that.
mms is offline  
May 17th, 2007, 03:39 PM
  #40  
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 10,190
I think Happytrailstoyou's question was for Brahmama who said "Another thing is to "throw away" the very top and the very bottom reviews."

If there's only two reviews, and you throw out the top and bottom, you're left with nothing...
toedtoes is offline  

Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Contact Us - Archive - Advertising - Cookie Policy -

FODOR'S VIDEO

All times are GMT -8. The time now is 03:12 PM.