Go Back  Fodor's Travel Talk Forums > Destinations > United States
Reload this Page >

HELP please! BAG CHECK IN-WITH HOW MUCH TIME to spare?

Search

Search this Thread

Old Oct 12th, 2000, 02:14 PM
Nancy

My plane leaves at 7:30 a.m...I usually arrive at the airport 2 hours beforehand. Airlines used to suggest you be there 60 min. before;now I call the airline (American) and they said they suggest 90 minutes before the plane leaves.

Question: how EARLY can I safely CHECK IN my bag in at the curb, before the plane leaves and be confident it'll be on the plane? I'm afraid I may check it in TOO early. Thanks. I'm desperate.

Old Oct 12th, 2000, 02:22 PM
scigirl

Nancy - I think with either 90 minutes or 120 minutes you should be fine. The difference between the two is only 30 minutes, and doesn't seem like a big deal. I am not an expert in the luggage area, other than that I fly a lot. Remember that people have layovers all the time that are many hours long and their luggage makes it on to their connecting flight. If you are concerned about your luggage arriving with you make sure that the skycab codes it for the right destination (e.g. HNL for Honolulu, LAS for Las Vegas, etc.), be nice to the skycab (heck, that never hurts), and carry a few things on with you (like medications) that you might need if your luggage is delayed. I think MOST luggage is delayed do to too little time, not too much. I hope this helps. Enjoy your trip.

PS: I NEVER get to the airport more than 60 minutes early, even for international flights, and I never had luggage lost.

Old Oct 12th, 2000, 02:25 PM
Annabelle

I don't know the answer to your question, but I WILL tell you that this has been my experience: