Grand Canyon - South Rim to North Rim

Search

Search this Thread

Old Mar 31st, 2011, 07:43 AM
Original Poster

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts

I'm just beginning our plans for a trip to the Grand Canyon. I keep seeing articles on some travel sites stating that the north rim is so different, and actually prettier, than the south rim. According to mapquest, there are no roads to the north rim.
Are there roads within the park system to get from one side to the other? If so, what is the travel time?
Old Mar 31st, 2011, 07:54 AM

I keep seeing articles on some travel sites stating that the north rim is so different, and actually prettier

"Different" yes. "Prettier" no. Both are worthy destinations. North rim is higher, more isolated (roads closed from first snows -- usually November -- until mid-May), and feels less hectic because there are fewer visitors, but south has more viewpoints closer to the river.

Are there roads within the park system to get from one side to the other?

No, you have to take the east exit and travel north past Lee's Ferry (or, a bit longer, Page) to reach the north rim. This is a very scenic route though, passing thru the Painted Desert and the edge of the Vermillion Cliffs National Monument.

what is the travel time?

On rim-to-rim hikes, which typically took 8 hours, we'd often have someone drive around to meet us on the other side and from Kaibab south trailhead to Kaibab north trailhead (a couple miles from the Lodge) it was four hours of driving plus whatever stops for scenery you might take. Could take a bit longer if you get stuck behind an RV going up the steep grade to the plateau.
Old Mar 31st, 2011, 09:07 AM

Bill_H is right on, he must be a fantastic hiker to do rim to rim in 8 hours,and for what it's worth I think the south rim has prettier views
Old Mar 31st, 2011, 10:10 AM

On mapquest type in "North Rim" to find the road there.