Go Back  Fodor's Travel Talk Forums > Destinations > United States
Reload this Page >

First-time visit to Rocky Mountain National Park...

Search

Search this Thread

Old Apr 13th, 2002, 09:31 PM
Gus

Hello,

I am planning a 4-5 day visit to Rocky Mtn. Natl. Park either mid-summer or mid September. I'm an avid photographer and look forward to capturing some of the beautiful Colorado landscape I have heard so much about. I am looking for advice as far as lodging: A nice, basic, clean room to just sleep and shower in-I plan to be out and about most of the time. Also, any must-see or 'must-photograph' sites I should look for?

Thanks for any info--If anyone needs some info on Glacier NP or Grand Teton, please ask 'cause I have visited those parks the last two summers.

Gus in Pennsylvania

Old Apr 14th, 2002, 04:19 AM
MIKE

BEAR LAKE IS BEAUTIFUL @RMNP, SEVERAL HIKING TRAILS TO WATER FALLS ARE EXCELENT FOR PHOTOS

Old Apr 14th, 2002, 06:41 AM
Dave

Gus,

On my previous two trips to Rocky I've camped in Moraine Park, but I've made reservations for this July at the Budget Host Motel in Estes Park. I can't make a recommendation since I haven't experienced it yet, but it seems to be one of the cheapest non-camping options at $70/night for a single.

The photo-ops in Rocky are endless; here's a few I can think of:

One excellent place to take photos of Long's Peak is on Hwy 7 south of Estes Park. Drive past the Lily Lake Visitor's Center to mile marker 8 - a great place for sunrise shots.

A couple miles further south on Hwy 7 you'll see St Malo, a stone chapel which is quite interesting. This is a good place to photograph Mt Meeker.

As you drive along Bear Lake Road, watch for a pullout between the Sprague Lake and Bierstadt Lake trailheads. One of my favorite spots: there is a fantastic view of the peaks along the Divide - Hallet, Otis, et al. - from here.

The Moraine Park Museum parking Lot offers good views as well.