Search

First Time Skiers

Search this Thread

Old Oct 31st, 2005, 12:16 PM
Original Poster

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
First Time Skiers

I would like to take my wife and two children (13& 9)skiing in Colorado the week of April 1, 2006.

We have never been skiing before and are looking for a nice,child friendly place to stay & ski. It would also be nice to be fairly close to a major airport.

Would like to spend no more than $225/night and have other activities besides skiing.

Any suggestions on location and hotels, etc?

Thanks,

Jeff

Old Oct 31st, 2005, 12:29 PM

Breckinridge, Winter Park, Keystone. Go to their websites for lodging links.
Old Oct 31st, 2005, 01:42 PM

Stay in Aspen and go to ski school at Buttermilk. Another option would be Snowmass Village, a short shuttle from Aspen. As a beginner, I always like to be near cute towns and other activities because three half days of skiing will be ENOUGH!
Old Oct 31st, 2005, 01:51 PM

Also, check out www.vrbo.com for rates less than the resorts charge for condos. Good maps on the resort website will give you an indication of where the properties are located. Also, what other activities can be found.
Old Oct 31st, 2005, 03:05 PM

The Aspen area probably will be more expensive than your price: Keystone (and Breck) is huge, lots of places to stay, good ski school, and probably better for first timers.
Old Oct 31st, 2005, 04:32 PM

The Limelight Lodge is very affordable, very comfortable, and right in a great Aspen location. Of course, you can pay much more - and we have - but I still like the LL just as much or more.
Old Oct 31st, 2005, 05:21 PM

Beaver Creek is very nice, too.
Old Nov 1st, 2005, 02:48 AM

In April places should be very reasonable. Agree about Buttermilk. Also Vail ski school is excellent and we have always liked to ski there because you can ski greens at the top of the mountain.
Old Nov 1st, 2005, 04:56 AM