Does this beach town exist?

Search

Search this Thread

Old May 13th, 2004, 08:42 AM
Original Poster

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts

I'm looking for a quiet relaxing beach vacation here in the US.
Here are the stats.

Time of travel - middle of Sept. Traveling with 11 month old. Departing from Chicago. Flight distance 4 hours or so...

Looking for,

Quaint town but I do not require club night life. Prefer pretty beach water and swimable temps. Enjoy picturesque coast lines and laid back atmospheres. I won't have ooddles of money, price range would be 3000 grand.

Texas/Oklahoma relatives might join us so a beach house rental is an option. I have never rented one before so have no idea the neat towns (outer banks??)

My beach travels have been few. I've been to Fort Meyers FL, Padre Island..and that's about it except when I lived in Hawaii and outside the Us-Aruba. So I'm a newbie when it comes to other areas.

Would appreciate any suggestions.Mainly I just need to hear, smell and see the ocean before I die of sea deprivation.
Old May 13th, 2004, 09:38 AM

Delmarva coast. Look at flying into BWI. My first choice would be Lewes DE. Both bayside (quiet,) and Cape Henlopen (Atlantic.)

Not sure about house rentals there--an assiduous web search will turn up information, I'm sure. Day-trips down through to Chincoteague would be rewarding, as well.

September and October is prime-time in that area. Yes, we go every year....
Old May 13th, 2004, 09:40 AM

Charleston, SC. Go to Isle of Palms for a great rental, or venture to Litchfield Beach, just north of Georgetown.
Old May 13th, 2004, 09:55 AM

Newport RI. Fly into Providence and rent car to drive right down to the coast (approx. 30 min). Beautiful and much quieter then in the summertime when it is tourist season. Still warm during Sept and ocean is very warm. Wonderful places to see and lots of gorgeus drives along the coast!! You can have a wonderful time for a lot less then 3000.
Old May 13th, 2004, 09:58 AM