Choosing between Dallas and Houston

Aug 23rd, 2006, 09:24 AM
Original Poster

Choosing between Dallas and Houston

In the near future we are planning to move in Texas. We do not know too much about Dallas and Houston.
Professionally: I'm a Structural Engineer.
Married with two kids.
We would like to make a choice between Dallas and Houston taking into consideration: jobs opportunities, good schools, affordable house prices, safe living area.

What would be your suggestions?

Thanks!
Aug 23rd, 2006, 09:27 AM

Austin.
Aug 23rd, 2006, 09:31 AM

Traveler2007, no offense, but this question always seems to set people off.
Search "Dallas" and you will see similar questions posted over and over.
People are pretty passionate about the response, too.
I live in Collin Co and would never consider living in Houston.
But that is just my opinion.
Aug 23rd, 2006, 09:44 AM

Housing prices are not too different, both have areas with good schools and safe areas. So, what you list is your main consideration, then look into job first. I mean specific jobs, as most jobs are not in the central business district. Then look at where you can live with good schools, easy commute etc...
Aug 23rd, 2006, 11:10 AM

Dallas and Houston have many differences.

. Metro Dallas is about 10% more populous than Houston, and seems to have the edge in terms of growth and development.

. Dallas is less humid, but slightly hotter in summer and cooler in winter.

. Dallas is more like a northeastern city, with urban and upscale inner city neighborhoods, mass transit, and organized zoning and planning. It is also building many "New Urbanism" villages in its suburbs. Houston is more like a Florida/Gulf Coast city with a laissez-faire attitude toward development, a late start towards mass transit, more suburban in its central city areas, although with clumps of high rise buildings here and there.