Big Island snorkle tours

Search

Big Island snorkle tours

Search this Thread

Old Jul 10th, 2004, 07:18 PM
Original Poster

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Big Island snorkle tours

What is the best snorkle tour to do on this island?

Also, has anyone done the flumin' the ditch kayaking??

Thanks!!
Old Jul 10th, 2004, 07:31 PM

I'd definitely recommend the Fairwinds tour out of Kona. Sorry but I have no experience or info on flumin.
Old Jul 11th, 2004, 04:17 PM

We loved going to Captain Cook's monument to snorkel but you do not need to do a tour to get there. Rent a kayak and they will direct as to where to put in. We paddled across the bay to the monument and had a great time for much less than a snorkel tour would cost.
Old Jul 11th, 2004, 04:23 PM

I agree with DawnCt. Rent a kayak and beat the crowds from the tours. Also, the bay is home to spinner dolphins who many times will give you a free show.
Old Jul 11th, 2004, 04:27 PM

Question please...

Do you need to reserve kayaks for Kealakekua Bay ahead of time, or can you get them the day you want to rent them? We're going to Kona as our 1st stop of a 4 island trip... if we need to make a reservation ahead of time, we'd need to do it before we leave the mainland.
Old Jul 30th, 2004, 08:03 PM