Search

Best Dim Sum in SF

Search this Thread

Old Dec 2nd, 2003, 03:29 PM
owa

Best Dim Sum in SF

Hi, We are leaving for SF on Saturday and would like to hear some suggestions for dim sum. Thanks

Old Dec 2nd, 2003, 03:37 PM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Yang Sing is the most wonderful dim sum place I've been to and I've been eating dim sum for 25 years. They have a location in the financial district and another in Rincon Center. As our concierge described it: a better quality of ingredients (try the sea bass or wild mushroom dim sums -yum!)
Old Dec 2nd, 2003, 04:45 PM

The name of the place the previous poster was talking about is Yank Sing, on Stevenson Street, and it is excellent.
Old Dec 2nd, 2003, 05:22 PM

Depends on whether you are round-eyed or almond-eyed - just kidding!

Yank Sing is probably the round-eye favorite.

More classic Cantonese is Harbor Village in 4 Embarcadero Center.

Both of the above are expensive.

In Chinatown, there is Miriwa and New Asia, both on Pacific. These are frequented more by local Chinese.

Out on Geary is Mayflower. Also more classic Cantonese. (I'm assuming that you are asking for a Cantonese dim sum house, which accounts for about 95% of the dim sum served in the US).

Then there are plenty of smaller places all around SF. There is one that is our favorite smaller dim sum house: South Sea Seafood Village on Irving. Small restaurant, good dim sum and great seafood.

For some reason, good dim sum in San Francisco tends to be on the expensive side.

Best dim sum I've had on the West Coast have been in Los Angeles and Vancouver, with much better prices.