ATM's on Oahu and Kauai

Search

ATM's on Oahu and Kauai

Search this Thread

Old Jan 4th, 2005, 10:39 AM
Original Poster

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
ATM's on Oahu and Kauai

If you use an out-of-network bank, they will most likely charge an ATM fee?

Are there any free ATM's out there? For example, here in central Jersey, the WAWA's (similar to a 7/11 store) offer no-fee ATM's. Any such "animal" in Kauai or the other islands?

If they do charge fees, one would most likely take out larger amounts of cash per transaction.
Old Jan 4th, 2005, 10:57 AM

My experience has been that I will be charged a fee if I use an ATM not belonging to my bank, whether or not they belong to the same network. Albeit I am a Hawaii resident, so this may not really answer your question completely.

As an example, I bank with Bank of Hawaii. When I withdrew money from an American Savings ATM, I was charged $3 by American Savings for using their ATM, and an additional $1.50 from my own bank for using another bank's ATM. They both belong to the Plus network.

Since Bank of Hawaii has ATMs everywhere, I hardly ever withdraw money from another bank's ATM. In the few times that I've done this, though, the fees were always charged.
Old Jan 4th, 2005, 11:03 AM
Original Poster

Do they have convenience stores with free ATM's?
Old Jan 4th, 2005, 11:13 AM

Any convenience store's ATM I've ever used in Honolulu has been one of those "independent" types - not affiliated with any bank in Hawaii - and they have charged the highest fees. Never noticed if they were within the same network as my bank, though.

For this reason I use convenience stores only as a last resort and prefer to use another bank's ATM if I can't find a Bank of Hawaii ATM.
Old Jan 4th, 2005, 11:19 AM

I find that if I use the ATM for a POS and get cash back I cicumvent the fee that a bank would chanrge. Shop at the larger stores like Safeway and get cash back.
Old Jan 4th, 2005, 11:20 AM