Advice needed on Southwest itinerary

Search

Search this Thread

Old Dec 13th, 2008, 07:59 AM
Original Poster

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts

I live in Chicago and am planning on driving west to stay with relatives first in San Francisco and then in LA. I have put this incomplete itinerary together for my drive back.

I was hoping more traveled posters could help me figure out how long I should stay in each place. Time isn't really a big issue: I'll be traveling in June and, as a teacher, I'll have the entire month of. The downside is, as a young teacher, money is somewhat of an issue. With that said, I don't mind staying in cheap hotels/motels and have some money saved.

Here's the itinerary for now:

LA -> Las Vegas (will be here for 3 days)
Las Vegas -> Grand Canyon south rim (3 days?)
Grand Canyon -> Monument Valley
Monument Valley -> Mesa Verde
Mesa Verde -> Taos

I appreciate any help or advice, even if it's trashing the plan set up thus far.
Old Dec 13th, 2008, 08:29 AM

If you are going anywhere near the Navajo Nation, then try the Many Farms Inn.

http://www.fodors.com/world/north-am...ew-436963.html

It's really part of the high school and a bit difficult to find ( when asking directions, just ask for the high school). Rates are incredibly reasonable and you will be doing a good deed by helping train young Navajos for hotel management.

For other segments of your journey, try Hostelling International. They are reliable, clean, and you can opt for either a dorm bed or a single room (if available). You need to sign up for a membership (believe it's less than $30), in order to get the better rate.

http://www.hiusa.org/

Book early for the summer, as there will be lots of students and Europeans traveling at the same time you will be.

There are also hostels that are unassociated with HI, but I'd be very careful with these, as standards may vary.
Old Dec 13th, 2008, 08:59 AM