A “Mini”-trip with some HUGE moments—San Francisco & area

Search

Search this Thread

Old Apr 6th, 2011, 04:38 PM
Original Poster

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts

Background: DH had a conference in San Francisco in late March. Rather (for us) at the last minute I decided to accompany him for part of the time (as a high school teacher, I hate to miss many days in the busy last quarter of the schoolyear). We would fly from south Texas through Dallas to SFO on a Sunday; I would return on Tuesday while he stayed through Thursday.

Previous SF trips: In 2007 I accompanied him for 4 days in which we rode the cable cars, strolled the Ghirardelli Square area, had a marvelous night tour of Alcatraz, and rode a bus to the Cliff House area for DH’s first brief glimpse of the Pacific. While he was in meetings two days, I took 2 day tours, one around San Francisco and then north across the Golden Gate to Muir Woods and Sausalito and the other south along the Pacific Coast Highway to Carmel. Two years ago he attended the conference alone and did a bit of walking around the SoMo area and also made it to Coit Tower. So between the two of us we had seen several of the area’s great destinations, at least briefly.

This trip: DH wanted to drive along the Pacific Coast Highway. That was really the only goal we had. So when I decided to go with him, he reserved a Mini-Cooper (which he’s rather wanted since college!) and I started exploring the internet, looking at maps, and posting questions on Fodors so we could have a tentative itinerary! Below is a mini-report on our “Mini”-trip.