3 day weekend trip to Portland & the coast

Search

Search this Thread

Old Mar 2nd, 2007, 12:24 PM
Original Poster

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts

Hi all. I'm a newbie here but have been browsing old posts for quite awhile and have found some great stuff. I'm wondering what you think about some ideas I have for our Fri-Sun weekend getaway in mid-April.

We will be driving from near Auburn, WA with our 3 girls, ages 8, 6, and almost 3 yrs old. We have lived here less than a year so haven't explored Oregon at all yet.

I thought it would be fun to go directly to Cannon Beach early Friday morning (about 3.5 hour drive), getting there around 10 am. Explore Ecola State Park and Haystock Rock. Go tidepooling and kite flying, etc. Then stay overnight here. Can anyone recommend kid friendly hotels and restaurants?

Then leave after breakfast Saturday morning for Portland. Go to the OMSI and maybe Oaks Park. Other possibilities include Forest Park, Rose Garden Children's Park, or Mount Tabor Park.

Sunday morning we'll either see one of the above parks or visit the Zoo or the Children's Museum for a few hours. Which one would you recommend over the other? Is the zoo doable if it's rainy?

Do you think the coast is fun to visit in April or is it too cold and not worth it? If the coast is a bad idea this time of year I was thinking of possibly seeing Salem instead and going to AC Gilbert's Discovery Village or the Enchanted Forest and taking a one hour ride on the Willamette Queen.

Do you think the coast or Salem is the better choice?

Thanks for any advice/feedback!
Old Mar 2nd, 2007, 12:49 PM