Summer Teaching Jobs Abroad

Old Feb 4th, 2015, 06:13 PM
Original Poster

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Summer Teaching Jobs Abroad

I am a high school math teacher in Iowa. I love the job I have here teaching and coaching, but have an itch to travel and it needs to be scratched. I would love the find a summer job that lasts 4-7 weeks and allows me to travel and work with youth or at least do something of value with my time and make a few bucks. I have noticed many jobs require a TESOL, TEFL, or CELTA certificate. Would it be of value to me to invest in getting a certificate so that I can continue to have opportunities to travel abroad for years to come.
Old Feb 4th, 2015, 09:37 PM

Received 1 Like on 1 Post
I have no idea what the demand might be for short term teachers. However, you might find some useful information here: http://eslcafe.com
Old Feb 5th, 2015, 11:35 AM

Received 12 Likes on 11 Posts
I would find out about short term placement before investing in a certificate. My impression is many placement are a 1-2 year minimum.
Old Feb 5th, 2015, 08:29 PM

This might interest you.
In Spain there is a school called Vaughan Town. It has two or three locations. Spanish people go there to learn English and to converse with native English speakers, who are volunteers. You, the volunteer, pay your own way to get to Spain, but if you are selected as a volunteer, the organization provides housing and food, while you spend your days speaking english to students. Most are adults. It looks like a lot of fun. Just google Vaughan Town, Spain. Pictures of the little town is beautiful and reviews by people who do it are really good.
Old Feb 16th, 2015, 06:56 AM

Follow thursdaysd's advice and go to eslcafe. The suggestion by Sassafrass is also valid.