We are all set but the tiny details- Domincal

Search

Search this Thread

Old Oct 14th, 2009, 09:57 AM
Original Poster

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts

First of all, thanks for being such prolific posters. You all practically planned my trip for me!

We are booking a week at Shelter From the Storm in December. We are most interested in Nature and wildlife and are relatively active but not hardcore fitness buffs. We are also 50 and 65.

First question- We are driving from San Jose and probably won't be underway until 3:30. This will put us on the last part of our trip in the dark. Will it be freakishly hard? I am a confident driver.

We are preparing to organize our day trips and have Hacienda Baru on the list. Is that a more than one day affair? We would probably do the self guided tour but figured that might be a zip lining location too. Any opinions?

We are not particularly beachy so a visit to the Whale's tail might be the extent of that.

MA sounds way too touristy. Are we selling it short?

We had thought about rafting through Rafiki Lodge. Is that too far away? Is there something closer?

Has anyone done a kayak tour at Marino Bellena?

Is the horseback tour to Naucaya Falls a must?

Any other suggestions?

Once again, you guys really are the best. Volcanogirl, Arenal is next trip!
Old Oct 14th, 2009, 10:18 AM

Shelter from the Storm is an amazing place. Donna and Darryl are the best! You will have a wonderful time there. I haven't driven that route in the dark so can't comment there. Good luck! ;-)

Hacienda Baru is not more than a day. We drove from SFTS after breakfast, hiked and enjoyed the beach, checked out the butterfly enclosure and left in time to go have a late lunch.

MA is definitely worth a day trip if you have time. The park and beaches there are gorgeous and it's good to take the guided hike if it's your only one, to help you spot all the things you might not on your own.