Trip Report - Antigua, Guatemala

Search

Search this Thread

Old Mar 5th, 2011, 09:03 AM
Original Poster

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts

My mom (a foodie) and I just returned from a wonderful week in Antigua, Guatemala. Mom asked me to help her post her trip report (below). – Hope you enjoy it.
---------------------------

Is the expectation better than the realization? I was about to find out… Never having traveled to Guatemala before and having my oldest daughter question my sanity, the day had finally arrived.

For over a year now, my youngest daughter and I have been taking Spanish classes on-line via Skype with Spanish teachers at the Probigua School in Antigua, Guatemala. My daughter is studying Spanish because her husband is from Spain, and I’m studying for fun and to maximize my trips to Spain with them! We love the Speak Shop program (speakshop.com) where we have one-on-one classes with our Guatemalan tutors. I finally decided we should hop on a plane to Antigua, meet our tutors in person, and even sign-up for a few Spanish classes. Antigua sounded wonderful, but neither of us had traveled to Central America before.

We met at DFW and left together at 5:05 PM, arriving in Guatemala City (GC) around 8:15. PM. Based on what we had read, we were concerned about traveling from GC to Antigua at night, so we stayed at the Howard Johnson Inn near the GC airport complete with free shuttle. The driver was waiting for us at the airport with a sign just as they had said he would do. (In retrospect, I think we could have easily made the trip to Antigua that night. We actually met other travelers that frequently made the one hour trip in the evening, and thought nothing of it.)

The HoJo Inn room was adequate but with very low light. I needed a flashlight to write in my journal. We arranged a shuttle to Antigua in the morning, and in the morning a friendly shuttle driver was already waiting for us and we were our way to Antigua.