spanish language school in CR

Old Feb 27th, 2006, 05:39 PM
Original Poster

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
spanish language school in CR

I have seen several references on this site for spanish language school in Costa Rica. Does anyone know of a good program - probably just one week long that I could attend with my son - he's 16. This would be done in June of 2007. Thanks for any info.
Old Feb 27th, 2006, 06:35 PM

I'm working hard on my Spanish at home (currently 5th term at my local community college) and, starting last year, plan to spend 2-3 weeks in a Spanish school in CA every summer (one more excuse to vacation there!). I'll probably never end up studying in CR as the culture of other countries interests me more, but here are a few recent threads from the Thorntree Forum when others have asked your question:

http://thorntree.lonelyplanet.com/me...entid=0&from=1

http://thorntree.lonelyplanet.com/me...entid=0&from=1

I studied in Honduras last summer and had a fabulous time; let me know if you're interested in school information for that country. Your son is really lucky to have that opportunity. Watch out, though - we traveled with our 3 kids and last year they were all living and studying on different continents!

Have a wonderful time, whatever you decide.
Old Feb 28th, 2006, 03:35 AM
Original Poster

Thank you for that!!
Old Feb 28th, 2006, 04:10 AM
Original Poster

Celas Maya in Guatemala sounds terrific.
Old Feb 28th, 2006, 05:25 AM

I'm sure Costa Rica is lovely, but Guatemala is culturally intense and, in my opinion, in a league of its own. We first visited in the 80's and our 20-year-old son Carlos, a native of Guatemala, joined us through adoption in '89 when he was 4. I have never studied at these schools near Tikal but it's on my list:

http://tikalcnx.com/

Also, can't help myself from listing the Honduras schools I think so highly of; I'm a diver and my husband loves to flyfish which aren't Guatemala's strengths: