Search

Peru Trip Report

Search this Thread

Old Aug 19th, 2008, 05:42 PM
Original Poster

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Peru Trip Report

Hi everybody,

This is my first time writing a trip report but I have received so much good help on these forums over the years, that I wanted to give it a try. My husband and I just got back from a 2 week trip to Peru and we had a great time. The only bad thing was that I got sick from the altitude but more on that later. We left Chicago on a Saturday night and flew via Miami to Lima. Although the American Airlines agent in Chicago swore that our luggage would be checked all the way through, it did not make it to Lima. We took Lan Peru from Miami to Lima and their agent in Lima said that American does not put luggage onto Lan flights. It was pretty upsetting because we had plenty of time in Miami to take our luggage to the next flight but we didn't because we were told that it would be checked all the way through. There were many people with the same problem in Lima so I think there may be a problem with AA getting luggage onto LAN. This doesn't seem like such a big deal a few weeks later but it is worth mentioning if anyone is taking the same airlines. At the very least, pack a change of underwear in your carryon.